Uber delivers 1.44 billion rides each quarter. That’s a lot of rides! It’s also a lot of opportunities for accidents. If you are involved in an accident and one driver works for Uber, you could get substantial compensation through our Uber accident lawyers.
Virginia law requires rideshare companies like Uber to carry a minimum $1 million policy per accident when the driver is on the clock and has a ride in progress. You could be covered as well, and Pendleton Law will work to make your claim go through.
Liability in Uber Accidents
Liability is all-important in Uber accidents. The amount of money you can get from Uber will change depending on the status of the driver’s app and who is responsible for the accident. Let’s look at some scenarios.
You have the most protection in an Uber accident. No matter whose fault it is, you can make a claim under the responsible driver’s insurance as well as Uber’s. Uber’s $1 million policy is per accident, so others involved in the crash may split that with you.
This is far more than the minimum coverage required for Virginia drivers. High policy limits make it much easier to get the full value of your case. Once we prove you were an Uber passenger at the time of the crash, we’ll push for as much as your case allows.
If an Uber driver crashes into you and you had no fault in the accident, then you may also be covered. It depends on the status of the app. An Uber driver has to be on the clock for you to get access to Uber’s policy. If the app isn’t on, it’s treated like a normal car accident.
Also, if the driver is on the clock but hasn’t accepted a ride request, you don’t get access to Uber’s full policy amounts. Instead, the minimums required by Virginia are:
- $50,000 in bodily injury per person
- $100,000 in bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 in property damage per accident
You can still make a claim against the driver’s personal insurance, so you could get compensation from two policies. Usually you’ll have to go through the driver’s personal insurance first before you can access Uber’s.
Your coverage is the same as third-party drivers. It all depends on the app status. Also, if you have comprehensive and collision coverage on your personal insurance, you can get more coverage from Uber if you have a ride in process.
This extra contingent comprehensive and collision coverage has a $2,500 deductible, but if you can afford it, then you could get your vehicle replaced quickly. You also have uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage.
If you drive for Uber, we encourage you to speak with your personal insurer about what extra policies you might need. You might have trouble making a claim against your own insurance if you do not meet their requirements for rideshare coverage. It can pay off big time if you get in a crash.
For a Free Legal Consultation
Call The Personal Injury Lawyer Hotline.
What Damages Will Uber Cover?
The $1 million policy is third-party liability, so it can cover many things for accident victims. These include:
- Medical bills now and in the future, including surgery, medication, therapy, and more
- Lost wages and lost potential income, including disability payments
- Non-economic damages like pain and suffering, disfigurement, and more
Our lawyers will determine which policies cover your situation. Then, they will gather evidence to show your damages, like police reports, medical records, and testimony. This evidence is the basis for calculating how much your case is really worth.
Armed with that, our Uber accident attorneys will approach the insurance companies to fight for what you’re owed. If they refuse to come to a fair settlement, we will take them to court. Our team is not afraid to take your case all the way to trial.
Let the Heavy Hitters® Take On Your Case 804-250-5050
How Long Do You Have to File?
You should start working with a lawyer as soon as a doctor has diagnosed you with an injury after your accident. Our accident lawyers work on contingency, so you do not have to pay anything unless you win. By starting early, we can protect you from insurance company tactics.
You have up to two years to file a personal injury claim in Virginia before you pass the statute of limitations. This is a deadline for filing lawsuits. After this point, the threat of legal action has passed and insurers will have a lot more leverage against you.
Don’t let it happen. Call an Uber accident attorney as soon as you’ve seen a doctor after your accident. We recommend seeing one the same day if you can. This shows you care about your injuries and you can catch hidden injuries before they worsen.
Central Virginia's Top Rated Personal
Injury Lawyers 804-250-5050
Get Your Free Consultation With a Wytheville Uber Accident Lawyer
To schedule a free no-obligation consultation about your Uber accident, call The Pendleton Law Team at the number on your screen. You can also schedule one through our online contact form. One of our representatives will reach out to you to schedule an appointment.
Don’t lose your opportunity to file a claim against Uber’s huge insurance policy. Call our offices as soon as you’ve been diagnosed with an injury.
The Pendleton Law Team Is Here For You 804-250-5050