Did you know you might be able to access a $1 million insurance policy if you get into an accident while riding in a Lyft vehicle? This is just one of many surprises that can happen in these accidents, and why you need a Lyft accident lawyer on your side after your Wytheville accident.
Pendleton Law has helped many rideshare victims access the larger third-party liability insurance policies to help cover the costs of injuries, lost wages, pain and suffering, and other damages. Here’s what you need to know about these accidents, and why you need a lawyer’s help.
Virginia’s Rules on Rideshare Insurance
The Virginia General Assembly requires rideshare companies to follow certain rules about insurance, hiring drivers, and more. Virginia requires rideshare companies to carry a minimum of $1 million in liability and UM/UIM coverage when the vehicle is carrying a passenger.
This is on top of the coverage that drivers are expected to carry as Virginia residents, though there are situations where those policies may not apply. The $1 million coverage is per accident, so the coverage is split among all victims. That’s still far more than the average policy of $50,000 in coverage.
However, to access this policy certain requirements must be met. The Lyft driver must be transporting a passenger or marked as en route to one on the app. If this is not the case, there are different coverage amounts.
For a Free Legal Consultation
Call The Personal Injury Lawyer Hotline.
Lyft Driver Coverage
If there is an accident involving a Lyft driver and the driver was logged into the app but hasn’t accepted a rideshare, Lyft lowers the coverage to the following amounts as of this writing in September, 2022:
- $50,000/person for bodily injury
- $100,000/accident for bodily injury
- $25,000/accident for property damage
This is third-party liability insurance, so you must first go through the responsible party’s insurance first. If that doesn’t cover your costs, you can access this policy. The aid of a Lyft accident lawyer will help you a lot here.
If a Lyft driver has their app off and there is an accident, then the accident is treated like a normal auto accident. Lyft’s coverage does not apply and you’ll have to claim compensation through the responsible driver’s insurance.
Let the Heavy Hitters® Take On Your Case 804-250-5050
What About Comprehensive & Collision Coverage?
Lyft also has additional comprehensive and collision coverage for Lyft drivers, but there are certain conditions you have to meet to get it. First, you need to have comprehensive & collision coverage on your personal insurance first. There is also a $2,500 deductible on Lyft’s policy.
If you drive for Lyft, we recommend checking with your own insurance to see if you have these coverages and that your personal insurance will cover rideshare situations. Should you get into an accident that isn’t your fault, the extra coverage will help your chances of getting compensation.
Even if your vehicle is totaled, you could get another vehicle quickly and get back to working for Lyft as soon as you feel well enough to drive with these coverages.
Central Virginia's Top Rated Personal
Injury Lawyers 804-250-5050
Why You Need a Lyft Accident Lawyer’s Help
As you can see, the insurance situation surrounding Lyft accidents can be quite confusing, and none of the insurance companies will want to pay out if they can avoid it. The finger-pointing and complaints about who is liable can slow down your settlement.
Our lawyers who serve Wytheville Lyft accident victims cut through the red tape and fight for the compensation you deserve after your Lyft accident. Even if the insurers claim that you’re partially responsible, which could deny you compensation in Virginia, we’ll be there to combat those claims.
However, if you don’t have a lawyer, you’re at the mercy of an insurance company with far greater experience and leverage than you do. Don’t settle for less than you deserve or let an insurer deny you compensation. Call Pendleton Law Team and get an advocate to help you.
Let Us Be The Heavy Hitters® For Your Case Speak To An Attorney Now
How Long Do You Have to File a Claim?
In any rideshare accident case, file your claim as soon as you see a doctor. Lyft will try to contact you to get a statement for their own insurers about what happened. Be factual, and do not over- or under-exaggerate what happened to you.
Ultimately, you have two years from the date of your injuries to file a claim in court under Virginia’s statute of limitations for personal injury. You should start your claim far sooner than that with the help of our Lyft accident attorneys.
You should focus on your recovery, not on the arguments of insurers and the possibility of going to trial. That’s our job. We will work hard to get you the most compensation possible for your case.
Get Compensation After a Wytheville Lyft Accident
If you get into an accident and one driver was working for Lyft at the time of the crash, call us as soon as possible for a free case consultation. Our team can help you get paid for medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, and much more, but we can’t help you unless you call.
Your consultation with us is free, and you will not have to pay us anything unless you win your case. There is no risk to getting a consultation, and they may owe you more than you think. See a doctor and then call Pendleton Law Team’s Wytheville accident lawyers.
The Pendleton Law Team Is Here For You 804-250-5050